h1

DVD/Blue Ray release of Ponyo

March 2, 2010

As some of you may know, today, March 2nd, was the US release date for Studio Ghibli’s latest film: Ponyo on a Cliff for DVD and Blue Ray. I just received my pre-ordered copy of Ponyo in the mail about 1 hour ago. I would like to say thank you to Amazon.com for giving me such a great deal on getting Ponyo. I ordered the Special Edition of Ponyo, which came with a bonus disk and a Ponyo Plushie (seen later in this post). I cannot wait to share the cuteness that is Ponyo with all of my friends.

Summary:

Ponyo is Miyazaki’s own unique take on Hans Christian Anderson’s tale, “The Little Mermaid”. It tells the story of a young girl fish(Ponyo) who defies her father’s wishes and beliefs about the human world to live with the boy she loves. After covertly traveling to the surface by jellyfish, Ponyo becomes stranded near a house on a seaside cliff, where she is found and rescued by a human boy named Sosuke. Sosuke names her Ponyo, and takes her to his school in a bucket, followed by trips around his town and home. Imagine Sosuke’s surprise when Ponyo speaks, and tells him that she likes him!

Special Edition DVD Set:

Ponyo Plushie:

Film and Bonus Disk:

11 comments

  1. Ponyo on a Cliff by the Sea was indeed a great film. Glad you own it now Laura =D


  2. PONYO YAY!!!! I pre-ordered it too and im so glad I did!


  3. Aww what a cute plus you got there!


  4. Great movie! Saw it in theater and wanted to own it. I will buy it when it shows up in stores!


  5. Nice! The special edition sounds fun. (I want that plushie please!)


  6. OOOH! I’m going to have to buy that! The plushie is so cute <3. Thanks for sharing it with us!


  7. Ponyo is an awesome movie. Lol to Liam Neeson though 😛


  8. I LOVE PONYO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am going to go watch my copy now =D
    😀 YAY!!!!


    • Yep Im going to watch it now too! Just had to post about it first haha


  9. Good Post. I searched the entire internet for something like “DVD/Blue Ray release of Ponyo “. Thank you very much, it had helped.


  10. You’re kidding right? I missed that all together!



Leave a Reply

