h1

Miyazaki Nominated for World Fantasy Awards 2010

August 26, 2010

The World Fantasy Awards 2010 nominees were finally released for The World Fantasy Convention in Columbus, Ohio. Among other spectacular artists, one distinct name in Anime Films can be found. This name is well-known writer and director Hayao Miyazaki. Miyazaki has been nominated in the Special Award – Professional category for his most recent anime film, Ponyo on a Cliff. Ponyo is an award-winning film produced by Japanese film company, Studio Ghibli. Walt Disney pictures then dubbed the anime into English and Ponyo was distributed in North America, and released into theaters on August 14th, 2009. The actual awards will be presented during a large ceremony at the convention on October 31, 2010. The World Fantasy Convention celebrates light and dark fantasy art and literature, and it will begin on October 28.

The film, Ponyo on a Cliff is the story of a young boy, Sōsuke, whom befriends a magical goldfish that he names Ponyo. Soon after, Ponyo transforms into a young girl and wants to stay with Sōsuke in the human world. However, Ponyo’s decision to leave her underwater life has its extreme magical consequences. Hayao Miyazaki is the director of anime films such as My Neighbor Totoro, Howls Moving Castle, Princess Mononoke, and the Oscar winning Spirited Away.

-Credit to: Locus Online Magazine & Aime News Network(ANN)

5 comments

  1. YAY Congratulations Miyazaki! I really hope he gets the award, he deserves it~


  2. Hayao Miyazaki is a fantasy genius!! I think i have probably seen Ponyo over like 200 times since I got the DVD, by far Ponyo is definitely one of my favorites of Studio Ghibli. I’m with Kristy I hope he gets it!


    • Couldn’t agree more! Ponyo was such an adorable film, you just can’t help but watch it over and over and over again ^-^:


  3. Hoping Miyazaki gets it, but if he doesn’t we still love him. What I really want to see is his next film be even better than Spirited Away and Howls.. and get another Oscar for his films. There is no doubt that Miyazaki’s works are some of the best fantasy stories of this generation.


  4. Ok I just have to say this as a comment but.. Liam Neeson playing the part of fujimoto was dead on! I remember that the movie Taken had come out about 1-2 months before Ponyo, and when I heard “He’s taking my daughter” while watching Ponyo in the theater I just cracked up..

    Well anyways sorry for the random rant, but I would agree with everyone. I love Ponyo and really don’t have a clue how many times I have seen it total, I would love to see Miyazaki win this.



Leave a Reply

