h1

Star Driver Episode 4

October 29, 2010

Now, this has been my favorite episode so far; since the first episode at least. Primarily, it’s because we finally broke out of the formula and actually had some TakutoxWako development other than Wako fawning over Takuto in Zero Time when he does cool shit.

I found their little alone time together quite interesting, and we got a chance to learn more about both characters’ pasts, discovering that Takuto wasn’t always the FABULOUS bishounen he is today and that Wako is unable to leave their island due to being a Maiden. Obviously, the big point of this episode is that it was probably the single biggest leap in Takuto and Wako’s relationship thus far, and I wouldn’t be surprised if some characters commented on an increase in their closeness next episode as a result of this time. I’m a romanticist at heart, with drama romances and romantic comedies being my favorite genres, so I thoroughly enjoyed seeing some real interaction between Takuto and Wako this episode. Having said that, I still think at this point the dynamic between them is underdeveloped and the writers need to do a better job of explaining how the relationship between them works, because as of this point it’s fairly bland. I can’t see myself getting into shipping debates over it, to the least.

As for Keito’s plan, I don’t recall it ever being explicitly stated, but I believe it was to bring Takuto and Wako closer together, as Head declared her plan a success despite Taiga’s inability to pilot a Cybody. Why Kiraboshi would want Takuto and Wako to get closer is beyond me, but it might have something to do with causing conflict in their relationship by creating angst amongst them, along with Sugata. If that is the case, then it seems that romance will be a very prominent driving factor behind this series, which isn’t at all uncommon for Bones productions. With Keito having serious feelings for Sugata, Takuto developing some for Wako, and Wako being seemingly split between Takuto and Sugata, I think we’re in for some serious romance drama plox. As I said before, I don’t mind the romance genre, but I seriously see the potential for it to interfere too heavily in this show. I suppose if that’s simply how the show is structured then I should adept accordingly, but such a development would certainly be outside of expectations for this series. As I said in my write up on episode 1, as long as the anime can incorporate a romantic plot well then I have no problem with it, but I seriously do not want Bones to ruin the potential of the show by force focusing on something needlessly. So far, a specific need for romance has not shown itself, but I’m assuming that Takuto’s relationship with Wako will end up having some kind of effect on the level of phase he or she is at. If not, well, let’s just hope the romance is written extremely well.

 

Leave a Reply

