h1

MM! Episode 5

November 1, 2010

This was definitely the craziest episode yet, which is certainly saying something. Going from power level radars to super sayain transformations, this episode was a complete throw back to Dragon Ball Z and an… interesting parody of it. The episode even started out as a parallel, with Mio dressed suspiciously similar to Louise of Zero no Tsukaima.

I definitely wasn’t expecting this type of randomness, which is more akin to Sora no Otoshimono, from this series. To be honest, I didn’t find the comedy this time around very entertaining, mostly due to the fact that its pure outlandishness felt very out of place here. The one responsible for all this craziness, Hiiragi Noa (Yahagi Sayuri), is certainly not what I was expecting after seeing the preview for this episode, turning out to be a mad scientist rather than a crazy exorcist wannabe, which is what I predicted she would be. Another thing I honestly was not expecting was for Noa to actually develop feelings for Tarou. It seems like every time he helps to solve a girl’s problem they end up falling for him, a bit like a certain spiky haired protagonist.

Speaking of that, it seems that slowly but surely Tarou is building a harem, which currently consists of Yuno, Mio, and now Noa. When I first started this series, I didn’t ping it to be a harem, believing that the only love interests Tarou would have would be Mio and Yuno. That said, I’m not against the idea of a harem, but you’d be hard pressed to convince me that the other members of Tarou’s harem (assuming he triggers more flags) will actually end up being more than comedy relief in comparison to Mio and Yuno, although it wouldn’t be the first time I was wrong about this series. I don’t have anything against harems in general, but it doesn’t seem like on would fit this series well, so I’m hoping that Noa will be the last flag Tarou manages to raise for a while.

Overall, I didn’t find this episode as entertaining as the past three and after watching it I came off feeling dry. The super hero antics really impeded upon my willingness to take Noa’s troubled past seriously, and furthermore they just weren’t very funny to me. I think if the writers had taken a more realistic approach, like they did with Yuno and Mio, I probably would’ve enjoyed Noa’s introduction a lot more. By realistic, of course I mean drama within the confines of an anime. Although, if Noa isn’t meant to be a serious character and actually won’t play a bigger role in the plot, I suppose it’s somewhat acceptable for her introduction to have been this silly.

 

One comment

  1. one can argue that it can go both ways



Leave a Reply

